G7 'will never recognize' Russian annexations

The G7 “will never”recognize Russian annexations


The countries of the G7 forum “will never recognize the alleged annexations” of Ukrainian territories by Russia, their foreign ministers said on Friday, promising new sanctions against Moscow.

“We unanimously and strongly condemn Russia's war of aggression against Ukraine and Russia's continued violation of Ukraine's sovereignty, territorial integrity and independence”, they added.

“President Putin's efforts to integrate Donetsk, Luhansk, Kherson and Zaporizhia regions into the territory of the Russian Federation are further evidence of Russia's blatant disregard for international law,” they continued.


 “And they are another example of Russia's unacceptable violations of Ukraine's sovereignty, the Charter of the United Nations and the principles and commitments jointly agreed in the Helsinki Final Act and the Charter of Paris,” they said.

  • Listen to Loïc Tassé's editorial on Benoit Dutrizac's show broadcast live every day at 12:30 p.m. via QUB radio:

They also promised “to impose additional economic costs on Russia, as well as on individuals and organizations inside and outside Russia who politically and economically support these violations of international law”. p>

The G7 “will”never recognize” Russian annexations< /p>

The G7 “will”never”recognize Russian annexations

Ministers also “reaffirmed their condemnation of Russia's irresponsible use of nuclear rhetoric”. 

“This will not prevent or deter us from support Ukraine for as long as necessary”, said the foreign ministers of the G7 countries (Germany, France, Italy, Japan, Canada, United and USA) and the High Representative of the EU for Foreign Affairs.