In some states, before Christmas, money is handed out: who can claim what

So far, there have been three phases of pandemic payments, one in April 2020, another in December 2020, and another in March 2021. Now another stage is underway, according to USA Today.

В some states give out money before Christmas: who can claim what

Photo: Shutterstock

Some states have additional pandemic payments.

The following states have enacted compensation laws:

  • Maine
  • California
  • Maryland
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Michigan
  • Tennessee

California Sends $ 1,100 Checks to Low Income Residents

California begins another round of $ 1,100 pandemic payments for residents who earned less than $ 75,000 in tax year 2020.

You must file your tax return by October 15th, be a non-dependent, and live in California for more than half of 2020.

Maine workers will receive checks for $ 285

According to the Maine IRS, these checks are intended “to support Maine residents working in a pandemic.”

The payment will be $ 285 and the Maine IRS will process the payments.

You are eligible if you filed your Maine income tax return for 2020 by October 31st and have been resident for a full year.

You must receive wages, salaries, tips, or other taxable payments employees for the year and must not be declared dependents on another taxpayer's 2020 tax return.

However, this is only for people who earn below a certain wage threshold, specifically $ 150,000, for a joint filing spouse or qualifying widow or widower, $ 112,500 if filing as a chapter families, or $ 75,000 if single or spouses who file separately.

Maryland sends checks to low-income families and individuals

Under the Maryland Relief Act 2021, families will receive $ 500 and individuals will receive $ 300 if they apply for the Earned Income Tax Credit.

As with the federal pandemic payments, applying for no benefit required.

These payments will be claimed by Maryland residents who earn $ 50,954 ($ 56,844, married filing) annually with three or more children (who meet the criteria), $ 47,440 ($ 53,330, married together) with two children ( eligible), $ 41,756 ($ 47,646 married filing together) with one eligible child, and $ 15,820 ($ 21,710) jointly registered) without children.

Florida, Michigan, Tennessee and Georgia highlight $ 1000 Teachers

Florida will be distributing incentive payments in December to emergency responders and faculty members who work with students. Teachers and principals are eligible for pay up to $ 1000.

Georgia has implemented a similar policy, giving teachers and principals $ 1,000 in incentive cash for their work during the pandemic.

Michigan is providing $ 1,000 bonuses to each full-time child care professional through its grant for stabilize childcare.

Licensed childcare workers are eligible to apply and must visit Michigan.gov/childcare.

directly from their employer, and they do not need to apply.

Tennessee will provide $ 1000 in hazard bonus for full-time teachers and $ 500 & # 8211; teachers working part-time.

They are expected to receive their checks by January 1.

The payout for hazardous work was driven by an expected 2% increase that educators expected in the bill passed in June.