Italian Grand Prix: never two without three at Monza?

Italian Grand Prix: never two without three at Monza?


The Formula 1 circus descends on Monza this weekend for the third and final leg of a triple program following the return from the summer break. < /p>

This event also represents the final round of the championship to be contested on European territory this year. 

Described as the “Temple of Speed”. with its four long straights that make it possible to exploit the power of the engines, this mythical track is completed at 77 % of its distance with the accelerator on the floor.

The two most recent presentations of the Italian Grand Prix have seen unexpected drivers reach the top step of the podium, namely Pierre Gasly (2020) and Daniel Ricciardo (2021). Can we expect another surprise on Sunday? 

To curb the crushing domination of Max Verstappen, winner of 10 races this season including the last four, the few rare contenders for victory will no doubt have to hope for any twists and turns, including the intervention of the safety car or the… rain.

Apart from the Dutchman, only his teammate at Red Bull, Sergio Pérez (1 win), and the two Ferrari drivers, Charles Leclerc (3) and Carlos Sainz (1), have won a Grand Prix in 2022.&nbsp ;

The memory of 2008

Particularly messy last week in the Netherlands, where he finished 14th at the finish, Sebastian Vettel hopes to obtain a good result on the occasion of his last visit to Monza, he who is playing his last season in F1.

It was here, in 2008, that the German's career took off when, against all odds, he won the Italian Grand Prix in the rain at the wheel of a modest Toro Rosso.< /p>

“I'm going to feel a lot of emotions as I show up at Monza for the last time. It was on this circuit that I won my first F1 victory,” said the four-time world champion.

A top 3 in 2020

For Lance Stroll, Vettel's teammate in the Aston Martin team, this GP is also a reminder of good times.

“I have fantastic memories of Monza where I started from the front row in 2017 [as a rookie in F1] and obtained the first podium [third] for Aston Martin in 2020 “, recalled the Quebecer. 

Stroll had a satisfying run in the Netherlands last week. After reaching the last round (Q3) of qualifying, he collected a point thanks to his 10th place acquired the next day.

“If we manage to do well in qualifying, a top 10 in race is achievable”, added Stroll who, in five starts at Monza, finished in the points on four opportunities.


  • Date: September 11, 2022
  • Circuit: Monza
  • Route: 5.8 km 11 bends
  • Number of laps: 53
  • Total distance: 306.7 km
  • First Grand Prix: 1950 


  1. Daniel Ricciardo | McLaren | 53 laps in 1 h 21 min 54.4 s 
  2. Lando Norris | McLaren | at 1.7 s
  3. Valtteri Bottas | Mercedes | at 4.9 s 

› Leading position: Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) in 1 min 19.555 s

› Fastest lap in the race: Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren) in 1 min 24.812 s (on the 53rd lap) 


  • 2020: Pierre Gasly, Toro Rosso
  • 2019:< /strong> Charles Leclerc, Ferrari
  • 2018: Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes 


< tr>

Italy Time Quebec time
Free Practice 1 Friday 2pm to 3pm Friday 8am to 9am
Free Trials 2 Friday 5pm to 6pm Friday 11am-noon
Free practice 3 Saturday 1 to 2 p.m. Saturday 7am to 8am
Qualifications Saturday 4pm to 5pm Saturday 10 h to 11 h
Race Sunday at 3 p.m. Sunday at 9am

♦ 6 hour gap with Quebec


< /tr>

Lewis Hamilton 1st in 2012, 2014, 2015, 2017 and 2018
Sebastian Vettel 1st in 2008, 2011 and 2013
Fernando Alonso 1st in 2007 and 2010
Daniel Ricciardo 1st in 2021
Pierre Gasly 1st in 2020
Charles Leclerc 1st in 2019
Valtteri Bottas 1st in 2017 and 2019
Lando Norris 2nd in 2021
Carlos Sainz 2nd in 2020
Sergio Pérez 2nd in 2012
Start Stroll 3rd in 2020
Max Verstappen 5th in 2018
Esteban Ocon 6th in 2017 and 2018
Alex Albon 6th in 2019
Kevin Magnussen 10th in 2014
Nicholas Latifi 11th in 2020 and 2021
George Russell 14th in 2019 and 2020
Mick Schumacher 15th in 2021
Yuki Tsunoda Package in 2021
Guanyu Zhou First Entry


< td style="text-align:left;">2. Charles Leclerc
1. Max Verstappen 310 pts
3. Sergio Pérez 201
4. George Russell 188
5. Carlos Sainz 175
6. Lewis Hamilton 158
7. Lando Norris 82
8. Esteban Ocon 66
9. Fernando Alonso 59
10. Valtteri Bottas 46
18. Lance Stroll 5
20. Nicholas Latifi 0

Research: Louis Butcher

Source:< /em>